21 July 2023

More than 100 nominees announced for Griffith Business Chamber's sold-out award gala night

| Oliver Jacques
Start the conversation
Salvatore Trimbole, Nathan Thomas and Sarah Armstrong

Salvatore Trimbole, Nathan Thomas and Sarah Armstrong, who have all featured in Region articles, are some of this year’s award nominees. Photo: Oliver Jacques.

A record number of nominations has been put forward for the 2023 Griffith Business Chamber awards, which recognise outstanding achievements by individuals and companies in business.

“We received 77 self-nominations for the Business NSW Aligned Awards, 15 nominations for Local Business Woman of the Year and thousands of entries [voted for by residents] for Local Customer Service Award, which has been narrowed down to 15 finalists,” chamber secretary and event organiser Amanda Quarisa said.

Categories such as “Outstanding Employee”, “Outstanding Business Leader” and “Employer of Choice”, are aligned with the statewide peak body Business NSW’s awards. This means the local winners move on to the regional finals, then if successful on to the state finals.

READ ALSO Salvatore Trimboli nears $8000 goal in World Cup hospital children’s ward fundraiser

Griffith businesses such as Aquna Murray Cod, Bella Vita Riverina Tours and Flavourtech have previously gone on to win the top gong in statewide titles.

“It’s important to point out that the judges for the 10 aligned awards were sourced outside of Griffith, which provide an impartial and non-biased approach to judging,” Ms Quarisa said.

It’s the first time the local awards night has been held since 2019, as the COVID-plagued years prevented the event from happening from 2020 to 2022.

You can read more about several of this year’s nominees in Region articles, including the inventor of the rain measuring app SparkDrop, Sarah Armstrong, perennial charity fundraiser Salvatore Trimboli of La Piccola Grosseria, veteran real estate agent Nathan Thomas, the always generous Gurdwara Singh Sabha Society Griffith (NSW) Incorporated, tennis star and physio Megan Polkinghorne and the multi-award winning business the Athlete’s Foot Griffith.

READ ALSO ‘Feet are getting bigger’: Griffith Athlete’s Foot celebrates 30th year in step with community needs

This year’s successful business awards nominees will be announced at the now sold-out awards night, which will be held on Saturday 5 August at the Exies Bagtown. This event doubles as the 70th birthday celebration of the business chamber and will feature guest MC Sam Powers, the illusionist who shot to fame after reaching the grand final of the hit TV show Australia’s Got Talent.

“It’s going to be a pretty spectacular evening,” Ms Quarisa said.

“I want to express my gratitude to all those who entered. I understand that entering the business awards during a time when you are facing workforce shortages and end of financial year tasks presented additional challenges. Your decision to enter despite these obstacles, demonstrates your commitment and dedication to excellence. Your efforts are commendable, and I wish you the best of luck on the night.

“Thank you to our vice-president Alycia McLean for her involvement in making the awards a success. Thank you to our category sponsors and once again Griffith City Council in sponsoring this event, you all play an essential role in making the awards possible.”

Group of Owen Toyota with awards

Owen Toyota picked up the award for employer of choice at the last Business Awards in 2019 and is nominated for the same category this year. Photo: Facebook.


Outstanding Employee

Sarah Taranto – Owen Motor Group

Paul Connell – Owen Motor Group

Macy Spencer – Soul Property Agents

Maria Trimboli – La Piccola Grosseria

Fiona Smith – Quest Griffith

Victor Wild – Beckom Road House

Outstanding Young Business Leader

SparkDrop – Sarah Armstrong

Troy Andreazza – Andreazza Electrical

Cassandra Cadorin- Candid Marketing

Bianca Piromalli – Bianca’s Cakery

Sarah Taranto – Owen Motor Group

Anjelica Diaz-Forrester – Ally Fashion

Megan Polkinghorne – Physifitness Sports Injury Prevention

Jamie Prendergast – Burson Auto Parts

Katie White – The Coro Club

Outstanding Business Leader

Michelle Burns -The Aisling Distillery

Cassandra Irvin – Elements of Health & Wellness

Gavin Dal Broi – Broidal Contracting

Salvatore Trimboli – La Piccola Grosseria

Brett Stonestreet PSM – Griffith City Council

Nathan Thomas – Soul Property Agents

Jenny Ellis – Made to Thrive

Employer of Choice

La Piccola Grosseria – Griffith

Country Universities Centre Western Riverina

Aitken Rowe Testing Laboratories

Hunt & Hunt Lawyers

Owen Toyota


Centacare South West NSW

Quest Griffith

Outstanding Start-Up


CanTicket PTY LTD

Riverina Mobile Vet & Equine Dentistry

Odelyne Agency

Kylie the Doula

Rule Tiling

Excellence in Micro Business

Arose Nail Studio

Candid Marketing PTY LTD

Fluid Engineering

Pure Laser

Griffith Wellness Clinic

La Piccola Grosseria-Griffith

Riverina Skips

Excellence in Small Business

Andreazza Electrical Pty Ltd

Black Line Swim School

Griffith Golf Club Co-Operative Society Limited

Worm Tech

The Athletes Foot Griffith

Anytime Fitness Griffith

Excellence in Large Business

Aquna Sustainable Murray Cod


VOAG Pty Ltd

The Coro Club

Outstanding Community Organisation

Big Brothers Big Sisters Riverina

Griffith Blacks Rugby Club

Soroptimist International Griffith Inc

Griffith Musician’s Club

Rural Financial Counselling Service NSW

Country Universities Centre Western Riverina

The Gurdwara Singh Sabha Society Griffith (NSW) Incorporated

Griffith Swans

Centacare South West NSW

Griffith Aged Support Service

Griffith Filipino Basketball League

Multicultural Council of Griffith Inc

Griffith Post School Options

Griffith Hampers of Hope

Outstanding Visitor Experience

Yarran Wines

Griffith Regional Sport Centre

The Gem Hotel

Festa delle Salsicce (Griffith Salami Festival)

The Gurdwara Singh Sabha Society Griffith (NSW) Incorporated

La Piccola Grosseria-Griffith

Blood, Sweat and Beers – Independent Craft Beer Festival and Home Brew Competition

Pioneer Park Museum

Riverina Field Days

Business Woman of the Year

Cassandra Cadorin

Sarah Taranto

Louise Pullen

Cassandra Irvin

Michelle Burns

Kellie Hoffman

Rachael Fattore

Megan Polkinghorne

Kylie Zandona

Julia O’Connell

Errin Eisenhut

Rescelle Joy Dingle Vargas

Bianca Piromalli

Rachael Huntly

Darrelea Curran

15 finalists for Local Customer Service Award

All Steel

Ally Fashion

Arose Nail Studio

Athletes Foot Griffith

Broomes Fruit & Veg

Cafe 2sixty2

Fred Cole Betta Electrical

La Piccola Grosseria

Pure Laser

Station 4 Cafe

Eclipse The Essential Spa

Griffith Drive Thru Pharmacy


Collier & Miller

SDS Dance Studio

Start the conversation

Daily Digest

Want the best Riverina news delivered daily? Every day we package the most popular Riverina stories and send them straight to your inbox. Sign-up now for trusted local news that will never be behind a paywall.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.