18 January 2023

Twenty-six Wagga heroes nominated for Australia Day Awards

| Shri Gayathirie Rajen
Join the conversation
National Anthem singers and recipients from the 2022 Australia Day Awards night at the Civic Theatre

National anthem singers and recipients at the 2022 Australia Day Awards night at the Civic Theatre. Photo: Wagga Wagga City Council.

Wagga Wagga City Council has announced 26 residents have been nominated for the 2023 Australia Day Awards.

The local heroes are recognised and nominated for their hard work and contributions to the community across all five categories, including Citizen of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year, Environmental Citizen of the Year, Ted Ryder Sports Memorial, and Walk of Honour inductee.

Wagga City Mayor Dallas Tout said the council was delighted to have received the nominations.

“These nominees have worked tirelessly devoting time and energy into making Wagga Wagga a better place to live for all,” Cr Tout said.

“It is wonderful to see so many citizens being recognised for the outstanding work they do for our community.”

On Australia Day, the council is set to welcome 80 new Australian citizens from 23 countries, including Burundi, China, Egypt, Estonia, India, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Jersey, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Malaysia, Myanmar, Pakistan, Philippines, South Africa, Sudan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, and the United States of America.

READ ALSO Toxic influencers like Andrew Tate another warning about the invasive pests of social media

The new citizens will receive their citizenship at a ceremony at the Victory Memorial Gardens at 9 am.

Wagga City Council is inviting residents to attend the free community event, which will start at 7 am.

The free event includes breakfast, a sand sculpture demonstration, a biscuit decorating workshop, face painting and a thong throwing competition.

To book for free general admission tickets for the Australia Day Awards ceremony, head to the Civic Theatre booking office or call, on 6926 9688.

2023 Australia Day Awards Nominations

Citizen of The Year Award

David Bardos
Katelyn Davis
Leanne Hesketh
Aaron McDonnell
Ken May
John Nixon
Aunty Cheryl Penrith
Alan Pottie
Ali Tanner

Young Citizen of The Year Award

Chelsea Burgess Hannon
Bianca Lubke
Emily McMahon
Shanae Pope
Maimuna Zaman
Joshua Schaeffer

READ ALSO International pro-wrestlers to bring the fight to Wagga in 2023

Walk of Honour

Wenceslaus DeJong
Aunty Isabel Reid
Aunty Kath Withers

Ted Ryder Sports Memorial Award

Robyn Harrington
Craig Hesketh
Amanda McLachlan
Henri Felix Moreels
Donna O’Grady
Marcus Webster

Environmental Citizen of The Year Award

Carmel Wallis

Click here, to find out more information about Wagga’s 2023 Australia Day activities.

Join the conversation

All Comments
  • All Comments
  • Website Comments

Daily Digest

Want the best Riverina news delivered daily? Every day we package the most popular Riverina stories and send them straight to your inbox. Sign-up now for trusted local news that will never be behind a paywall.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.