3 March 2023

Nominations open for Murrumbidgee health awards

| Travis Radford
Start the conversation
new graduate nurses

Newly graduated registered nurses start their career in the Murrumbidgee Local Health District. Photo: Murrumbidgee Local Health District.

Murrumbidgee Local Health District (MLHD) has opened nominations for its excellence awards, to honour stand-out health professionals and volunteers.

More than 5000 healthcare staff employed across 33 hospitals and 12 primary health care centres in the region are eligible for nomination across thirteen award categories.

These include four individual and nine team awards, for those who demonstrate a pursuit of excellence and a commitment to improving the lives of others in their respective fields.

MLHD Chief Executive Jill Ludford said the awards were an opportunity to acknowledge the great work being done across the district.

“During my site visits across the region, I see so many great initiatives and projects, and excellent delivery of quality service,” she said.

“It’s great to see these staff rewarded for their efforts.”

READ ALSO Wagga health hub open but regional ministry’s future unclear

Team award categories acknowledge achievements across consumer experience, Aboriginal healthcare, patient safety, digital innovation, and several other categories.

Individual awards crown an allied health staff member, a nurse or midwife, a staff member, and a volunteer of the year.

Around 50 per cent of MLHD staff are nurses, making it one of the most competitive individual categories based on numbers alone.

The award guidelines state that the successful nurse or midwife of the year must have made an outstanding contribution in providing and coordinating patient care.

They also need to display the values of commitment, compassion, resilience, professionalism and collaboration.

Wagga Wagga Community Care registered nurse Anna-Maree Bloomfield was the 2022 winner of the award.

READ ALSO Dr Joe demands NSW Labor clarify its position on regional health

Other eligible staff for award nominations include doctors and allied health staff, corporate service, support and maintenance staff, and volunteers.

Nominations close on 21 April and a gala presentation will take place on the evening of 16 June.

More information about the awards, including award criteria, can be found on the MLHD website.

Start the conversation

Daily Digest

Want the best Riverina news delivered daily? Every day we package the most popular Riverina stories and send them straight to your inbox. Sign-up now for trusted local news that will never be behind a paywall.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.