22 April 2023

Historic warbirds on commemorative mission in museum's Anzac Day salute

| Jarryd Rowley
Start the conversation

The CA-16 Wirraway will be one of three historic aircraft that will take flight on Anzac Day as a form of remembrance by the Temora Aviation Museum. Photo: Temora Aviation Museum.

Riverina residents should look to the sky this Anzac Day to catch a peek at the Temora Aviation Museum’s special tribute flyover honouring servicemen and women of the Australian Defence Force.

Two historic aircraft, a Supermarine Spitfire Mk VIII and a CA-16 Wirraway VH-BFF, will fly over 15 locations over 1000 kilometres, including Wagga Wagga, The Rock, Lockhart, Coolamon, Springdale and Bowra.

READ ALSO Getting down to business, prestigious Golden Crow Awards officially on the lookout for excellence

The Mk VIII is one of the museum’s two airworthy Spitfires, which are among only about 50 remaining Spitfire designations around the world despite more than 20,000 of the planes being made in England before and after WWII.

The Mk VIII was the last Spitfire acquired by the RAAF.

Meanwhile, the CA-16 Wirraway VH-BFF is one of 755 that were constructed at Fishermans Bend in Victoria between 1939 and 1946. Wirraways served at RAAF Uranquinty, where pilots undertook advanced training during WWII.

Spitfires over Temora

Riverina residents will be treated to a flypast by classic WWII planes this Anzac Day. Photo: Temora Aviation Museum.

An English Electric Canberra aircraft will also perform a special flypast at Hay.

Temora Aviation Museum deputy CEO Peter Harper said despite aircraft playing only a minor role during the WWI conflict, Anzac Day was at the core of what the museum stood for.

“We stand for remembering the men and women who served our country during times of conflict,” Mr Harper said.

READ ALSO Nine things to do in the Riverina this week (21 – 27 April)

“The aircraft flypast at the many Anzac Day ceremonies all over the region is our way of acknowledging the sacrifices made for all three services, not just those who served the RAAF.”

The three historic planes have been maintained by the museum in partnership with the RAAF No. 100 Squadron to keep them in airworthy condition.

The military aircraft will be flown by, or in conjunction with, the Australian military forces.

Aircraft Flyover Schedule:

Supermarine Spitfire Mk VIII

Temora departure, 9:05 am; Springdale, 9:15 am; Wallendbeen, 9:22 am; Boorowa, 9:30 am before Temora return; Temora departure, 10:50 am; Cootamundra, 11 am; Junee, 11:10 am; Wagga Wagga, 11:15 am; Temora, 11:30 am; Temora return, 11:35 am.

Wirraway VH-BFF

Temora Departure, Uranquinty – 9:00 am; Wagga landing, Wagga Departure, 10:35 am; The Rock, 10:45 am; Lockhart, 10:55 am; Coolamon, 11:11 am; Ganmain, 11:15 am; Ariah Park, 11:28 am; Ardlethan, 11:40 am; Yenda, 11:53 am; Griffith, 11:57 am; Temora return, 12:30 pm.

Start the conversation

Daily Digest

Want the best Riverina news delivered daily? Every day we package the most popular Riverina stories and send them straight to your inbox. Sign-up now for trusted local news that will never be behind a paywall.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.